Gillian Roe

After a long spell living in Yorkshire, Gillian and her family have relocated to the south coast of Hampshire, where she grew up.  She is constantly making a variety of lovely things, but in particular bits and pieces which add colour and individuality to her home. Her passions (beside her family) include making and baking, growing and sewing, reading, photography and the English coast.

A few questions about nice things...

Who do you most admire?

Those busy and often unacknowledged women who juggle many things, work hard in their chosen jobs, give up their free time, love their families and friends, contribute to their local community, and just generally get things done while having a laugh at the same time.

What are your favourite possessions?

My KitchenAid Mixer. Pictures drawn and stories written by my children which I keep in my “sentimental box”, along with tiny shoes and lots of photos. An award I won at work in my job, pre-kids. A ring I inherited from my Grandmother. The things I have made in our home: blankets, cushions, artwork, embroideries. My phone.

Tell us about your perfect day or weekend...

In the winter: A family walk through crunchy, frosty woodland followed by a huge roast dinner, then cosying up on the sofa with some yarn-related activity while listening to the Archers omnibus.
In the summer: at home, all the doors and windows wide open, the kids in the garden, me pottering about, inside and out, everyone relaxed and happy. Hopefully there will be a barbecue and ice cold beer at some point.

What makes you happiest?

The little things. A lie in with a book and a cup of tea. Discovering a new magazine or author. Fresh flowers. A never-fail cake recipe. A ball of yarn, squishy and full of promise. Eating something we grew in our tiny garden. Listening to my children chat and laugh with each other. Friday night takeaway, eaten on the sofa with a bottle of wine and my love, while watching whichever DVD box set we are currently obsessed with.

What would you like to do in the future?

What I’m doing now – look after the people I love and work in a happy home.