Rachel Lees

Countryside made and countryside raised Rachel fortunately finds herself on Dorset’s wild Jurassic coast, making her well able to practice jumping stiles and the like. Whether attempting to run the Purbeck hills, foraging for wild food or sleeping in a bivvy beneath the stars, to Rachel the outdoors really is great and with the Jurassic Coast providing her with a smorgasbord of free adventures to choose from, she sees rosy cheeks and the hair through a hedge look as a good measure of contentedness.
In between wombling around the countryide she gives fighting for justice a good old go by freelance writing for international development charities. She happens to reckon people and planet really matter you see, and with the pen as her weapon she works hard at loving these two things well.

A few questions about nice things...

Who do you most admire?

I doff my hat to folk who are willing to make themselves uncomfortable in order to love the planet and people just that bit more. The justice-seekers and the against-the-grainers.

What are your favourite possessions?

My most favourite of things include a hand knitted R jumper from a friend (which smells gloriously of sheep), my journals from over the years, my rucksack and my walking boots

Tell us about your perfect day or weekend...

Breakfast in the garden, a kayak and a hunt for cockles followed by a walk to a cliff top and a simple seafood feast with the help of a trusty stove and pan, a little dance to a live band, a local ale and a night under the stars. All of this would be accompanied, of course, with the greatest of friends (and Dougall the Landrover).

What makes you happiest?

A woolly jumper, adventuring with my most favourite humans, a handmade fire and the life conversations that come with it, kitchen dancing and Sunday roasts with the family.

What would you like to do in the future?

I would love to travel the length of Africa in a Landrover, collecting people’s tales as I go. Other than that wee African adventure, the dream is to have a small holding of sheep, pigs and chickens, a vegetable garden and to finally learn to make my own clothes.